top of page

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

Our History

Brain Research Society of Finland was founded in 1973 with the aim of advancing the scientific research on the central and peripheral nervous system by bringing together experts from different fields of neuroscience.


The Society organizes Neuroscience Finland events for scientists, and works to improve the collaboration and opportunities for brain research in Finland. The Society is a member of the International Brain Research Organization (IBRO) and the Federation of European Neuroscience Societies (FENS, since 1998). Brain Research Society of Finland is also supporting the Declaration of the European Dana Alliance for the Brain.


The BRSF Board Members represent different fields of clinical and basic neurosciences. Board members are elected for a three year term.

Current board members

Lehtonen Sarka-1075_small_BRSF.jpg


Pirta Hotulainen

Minerva Foundation Institute for Medical Research
Tukholmankatu 8
00290 HELSINKI, Finland


Nadine Huber

University of Eastern Finland
P.O.B. 1627 (Neulaniementie 2)
FI-70211 Kuopio, Finland



Sarka Lehtonen

University of Eastern Finland/University of Helsinki

P.O.B. 1627 (Neulaniementie 2)

FI-70211 Kuopio, Finland

Katja Kanninen

University of Eastern Finland


Hanna Antila,

University of Helsinki, 


Nelson Totah

Helsinki Institute of Life Science, University of Helsinki

P.O. Box 56 

00790 Helsinki


Ville Leinonen

University of Eastern Finland
(Clinical neuroscience and neurology)



Marja-Leena Linne

Tampere University 
(Computational neuroscience and neuroinformatics)



Nelson Totah.jpg

Liisa Myllykangas,

University of Helsinki and HUS Diagnostic center, Department of Pathology



Soila Kuuluvainen,

University of Helsinki, CBRU
(Cognitive neuroscience)

Miriam Nokia

University of Jyväskylä



Takashi Namba 

University of Helsinki 

Petri Ala-Laurila, 

University of Helsinki, 
Aalto University
(Molecular Neuroscience)

Liisa Myllykangas.png
Takshi Namba_edited.jpg
Petri Ala-Laurila.png

Brain Research Society of Finland

Suomen Aivotutkimusseura ry


bottom of page